Monday, January 3, 2011

Back to work

It was so sad to leave vacation and start back up at work today. The torrential downpour on the way didn't do much to improve my mood either!

I accomplished my first goal, of shopping my closet and wearing an "unloved" item (actually, I got two in this outfit!) to work this morning. Still no proper lighting so I couldn't take a photo. I remembered that the jeans I was wearing hadn't gotten much love because when I was skinnier they fit kind of baggy and unflattering. Not a problem today! I wanted to wear my brown Uggs in the rain and THOUGHT that I wore my only brown sweater yesterday (thus mentally adding a chocolate brown cardigan to my "need" list) but then I realized that I had an unloved brown sweater in the closet as well. Not sure how I ended up with two -- although one is a V neck and the other is round. Is that a good reason to own both?

I got on the scale this morning and was HORRIFIED at the number. It definitely kept me motivated on my new healthy eating plan, which is "No White." Keeping white out of my diet is the easiest way for me to lose weight (that eating plan resulted in 13 lb weight loss last year, most of which I'm now working on taking off yet again...) As part of my mindful/ moderation plan I also have a new coffee agenda. Last year I drank at least one Starbucks latte every day, although I moved from grande to tall about mid-way through the year. My new money AND calorie saving plan is to cut back on the lattes. I "earn" a latte on days when I work out, but days I don't, I'll now be drinking an americano (just shots and water) which has no calories and costs $2 less! Its a win-win. My barrista was shocked at my order this morning, which is probably a sad statement about my life...



In an effort to understand more about the shopping/ eating connection, I've started to read Peter Walsh's book "Does This Clutter Make My Butt Look Fat?". I'm not far into it yet but it seems really interesting. I'm definitely not a hoarder and my house is pretty minimalist (given my husband's OCD fear of "stuff") but the idea that over shopping/ acquiring and overeating are part of the same issue makes sense.

I did go to the mall after work today -- I decided to exhange my black Lulu pants for these grey ones instead.



I already have (yikes) 2 black long tights and two black cropped yoga pants so upon further reflection, I decided that the only way to justify this pair was to get something different. I didn't buy anything, just the exchange. Three full days of not using my budget -- I'm on my way!

Saturday, January 1, 2011

The Year is Here

2011 has arrived, and with it my new clothing & makeup budget & a whole host of other goals...

We had an ultra relaxing vacation, so I'm rested and ready to get started. I'm also happy to report that I stayed away from stores during the last days of 2010. I resisted at the outlets (nothing really called to me) and just browsed at my favorite dress shop in the desert. I did get to Target where I bought a bunch of hangers to begin making my closet more user friendly. While switching out hangers and reorganizing, I also filled up a huge bag of "unloved" items today, in an attemp to be REALLY honest with myself about what I will and will not wear in the coming year.

I think that some of my urge to shop comes from not really being aware of how much I have already available. I am constantly purging, but it doesn't seem to do much good. I realize that I have to truly pare down to the stuff I wear, try to wear the stuff I have (much of which is super cute!!) and avoid fashion ruts (most recently I've been in the "gained 10 pounds so nothing fits and I need a new wardrobe rut...) I'm guessing that between eating properly (to lose those 10 so clothes once again fit) and being mindful about how make my current wardrobe work whether I'm up or down a few lbs, I won't feel the need to buy new stuff to mix it up.

So my first goal of the year is to choose one item from my closet each week that hasn't gotten much recent wear and actually create an outfit with it! And if I can't dress myself in said item, then I have to rid myself of it (sell/recycle/give away.) I think I'm a good shopper, I have a closet full of nice things - the challenge is to figure out how to feel happy with what I've got rather than needing more/ newer/ better. I'd like to post a photo each week of my old-new outfit (this requires better closet lighting so I can actually take pictures in front of my full length mirror -- need to get my husband to help out with that one.)

My second goal of the year is to shop when I need something, not because I'm bored/ want something pretty/ think shopping will magically make me feel better. I can't think of a single thing I need at the moment, so I have no plans to hit the mall in the coming week.

However, when I came home today I had one final box waiting for me. It contained the purchase that put this whole plan in motion -- a J Crew black pea coat. It is adorable and I do plan to keep it, but I also have to acknowledge that I don't feel any happier, cooler, prettier or thinner because I now own it. I also got 3 Still lip glosses as a ride-along to get the free shipping.

Gosh, I hope this was worth it!!



Mine is black: