Monday, January 3, 2011

Back to work

It was so sad to leave vacation and start back up at work today. The torrential downpour on the way didn't do much to improve my mood either!

I accomplished my first goal, of shopping my closet and wearing an "unloved" item (actually, I got two in this outfit!) to work this morning. Still no proper lighting so I couldn't take a photo. I remembered that the jeans I was wearing hadn't gotten much love because when I was skinnier they fit kind of baggy and unflattering. Not a problem today! I wanted to wear my brown Uggs in the rain and THOUGHT that I wore my only brown sweater yesterday (thus mentally adding a chocolate brown cardigan to my "need" list) but then I realized that I had an unloved brown sweater in the closet as well. Not sure how I ended up with two -- although one is a V neck and the other is round. Is that a good reason to own both?

I got on the scale this morning and was HORRIFIED at the number. It definitely kept me motivated on my new healthy eating plan, which is "No White." Keeping white out of my diet is the easiest way for me to lose weight (that eating plan resulted in 13 lb weight loss last year, most of which I'm now working on taking off yet again...) As part of my mindful/ moderation plan I also have a new coffee agenda. Last year I drank at least one Starbucks latte every day, although I moved from grande to tall about mid-way through the year. My new money AND calorie saving plan is to cut back on the lattes. I "earn" a latte on days when I work out, but days I don't, I'll now be drinking an americano (just shots and water) which has no calories and costs $2 less! Its a win-win. My barrista was shocked at my order this morning, which is probably a sad statement about my life...



In an effort to understand more about the shopping/ eating connection, I've started to read Peter Walsh's book "Does This Clutter Make My Butt Look Fat?". I'm not far into it yet but it seems really interesting. I'm definitely not a hoarder and my house is pretty minimalist (given my husband's OCD fear of "stuff") but the idea that over shopping/ acquiring and overeating are part of the same issue makes sense.

I did go to the mall after work today -- I decided to exhange my black Lulu pants for these grey ones instead.



I already have (yikes) 2 black long tights and two black cropped yoga pants so upon further reflection, I decided that the only way to justify this pair was to get something different. I didn't buy anything, just the exchange. Three full days of not using my budget -- I'm on my way!

Saturday, January 1, 2011

The Year is Here

2011 has arrived, and with it my new clothing & makeup budget & a whole host of other goals...

We had an ultra relaxing vacation, so I'm rested and ready to get started. I'm also happy to report that I stayed away from stores during the last days of 2010. I resisted at the outlets (nothing really called to me) and just browsed at my favorite dress shop in the desert. I did get to Target where I bought a bunch of hangers to begin making my closet more user friendly. While switching out hangers and reorganizing, I also filled up a huge bag of "unloved" items today, in an attemp to be REALLY honest with myself about what I will and will not wear in the coming year.

I think that some of my urge to shop comes from not really being aware of how much I have already available. I am constantly purging, but it doesn't seem to do much good. I realize that I have to truly pare down to the stuff I wear, try to wear the stuff I have (much of which is super cute!!) and avoid fashion ruts (most recently I've been in the "gained 10 pounds so nothing fits and I need a new wardrobe rut...) I'm guessing that between eating properly (to lose those 10 so clothes once again fit) and being mindful about how make my current wardrobe work whether I'm up or down a few lbs, I won't feel the need to buy new stuff to mix it up.

So my first goal of the year is to choose one item from my closet each week that hasn't gotten much recent wear and actually create an outfit with it! And if I can't dress myself in said item, then I have to rid myself of it (sell/recycle/give away.) I think I'm a good shopper, I have a closet full of nice things - the challenge is to figure out how to feel happy with what I've got rather than needing more/ newer/ better. I'd like to post a photo each week of my old-new outfit (this requires better closet lighting so I can actually take pictures in front of my full length mirror -- need to get my husband to help out with that one.)

My second goal of the year is to shop when I need something, not because I'm bored/ want something pretty/ think shopping will magically make me feel better. I can't think of a single thing I need at the moment, so I have no plans to hit the mall in the coming week.

However, when I came home today I had one final box waiting for me. It contained the purchase that put this whole plan in motion -- a J Crew black pea coat. It is adorable and I do plan to keep it, but I also have to acknowledge that I don't feel any happier, cooler, prettier or thinner because I now own it. I also got 3 Still lip glosses as a ride-along to get the free shipping.

Gosh, I hope this was worth it!!



Mine is black:

Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Mindful Vacation?




We are heading out to the desert for our last vacation of 2010! Vacations are always a difficult time for me to implement moderation, which seems to require routine and consistency to be successful. When we go out to the desert we are definitely not on any type of routine. In fact, we all sort of wander around aimlessly from meal to meal, with some shopping thrown in for good measure. Is it any wonder this is my favorite vacation spot?

We have to drive past the outlet mall on our way out, which fortunately the kids despise so it will be a quick trip. We need to make one return, pants for my son that are too small, but otherwise my plan is to avoid J. Crew, Banana Republic, and all the other outlet stores I normally like to frequent. The Kate Spade outlet could be more of a challenge... I have new white, black and blue purses on my wish list. (Funny how when you gain weight, purses and shoes move to the top of the wish list...)

I just got a Tory Burch gold bag a few weeks ago, which could take the place of a white bag for spring if I lack funding for a new white one:



My black purse is also fine, but I've been searching for navy blue for ages so if I happened to spot one I doubt I could resist!


Otherwise, my plan is to keep all my shopping to non clothing items. My boss, who is the uber guy's guy, gave me a $50 gift card to Target. So sweet of him, especially because shopping is NOT his thing at all (in fact, it is highly likely that his assistant picked up all his gifts to staff.) At first I was wondering what I'd get from Target that would be a treat, instead of just the ususal shampoo, soap, etc, but them I decided to use it for new hangers to get my closet more organized for my upcoming YLMMM. My favorite brand is Huggable Hangars. They are totally from an infomercial but they really work:



They are the best for maximizing closet space, especially closet space for a woman who has WAY too much.

I also need a new razor -- the best brand that makes it nearly impossible to cut yourself and requires no shaving creme:




The only other things on my list are picture frames (which I love to buy at Pottery Barn) and maybe some dish towels. Let me repeat, clothing needs are ZERO!

While on vacation I am going to make PLANS for my year of living more mindfully and moderately. There is nothing like a to-do list to get me motivated.

Sunday, December 26, 2010

And so it begins

Welcome.

This is my second go at a blog (the first lasted almost 3 years), my first try at living on a budget and my billionth attempt to eat properly. I am, as I like to say at work, cautiously optimistic.

There is a [More] in the title of this blog for a reason. Last year, my resolution was to drink less coffee. By 6:00 PM on New Year's day I'd already gone twice to Starbucks (where the entire staff knows my name, my order, and plenty of other details of my life.) Not exactly the outcome I'd anticipated. In fact, I was thinking that perhaps this year I would resolve to drink MORE coffee so that I could be certain to succeed.

I woke up for my Thursday morning run last week with an insane idea. (Crazy ideas are what happen when you wake up at 5:30 AM to exercise.) I was getting dressed in my very full closet, feeling a hangover of guilt for the impulse purchase I'd made on jcrew.com (a coat I'd been stalking that I finally got for $138 instead of $225 -- and free shipping!) and it occurred to me that many people set aside a specific amount of money for shopping. Like a diet, but with money, instead of food. That way, they have boundaries and don't just buy because they are bored, it feels good or at that very moment they wanted that very thing that they don't actually NEED at all.

I proposed this idea to my running partner and BFF, Cindy. C is a world class shopper and has been a terrible influence on me because not only does she love to shop, but she's a Gemni so when she finds something she likes, she has to buy two. Multiples -- genius! Now I call it Cindy shopping when I find something and buy it in several colors.

She was impressed with the budget idea, but could also relate to the pain. For the next 5 miles of our run (well, there was some walking too), we laid out a plan. Starting January 1, I can only spend up to the amount of a monthly budget for clothing purchases. I also have a little problem with cosmetics (namely, total lack of control at Sephora) and so I will also be using a makeup budget. We determined that running shoes, underwear and things like hair and skincare products don't count. Alterations do not count. Sadly, purses and shoes do count. However, any month in which I do not use up my whole budget I get to roll over any excess to the next month. So if I can keep out of the stores this winter, I will have a good amount to spend for spring.

Before discussing actual dollars, let me say that I do not live in a small village in Africa, where yes, I know my proposed clothing budget per month could feed an entire family for a year. Instead I live in an "exclusive" suburb where reality TV shows are filmed. Most of my girlfriends don't work, and have their shopping funded by successful husbands, indulgent parents, trust funds, etc. In fact, was telling a friend about my proposed budget last night and when I said the number of my budget she said "thousand"? Because there are people here who normaly spend thousands, if not tens of thousands, on their wardrobes each month.

Also, unlike many people in America today, I am lucky to have a great job. I don't make a ton of money but I make enough to shop indulgently and not have it impact my family's bottom line. All the money I spend is money that I personally earn. My wonderful husband has no idea how much I spend (and really no interest). So here is what I came up with for my budget:

Clothing -- $500 per month
Makeup -- $100 per month (this does not include Botox, Restalyne, any other cosmetic procedures, hair cut/color/style or any normal skin and hair products that are already part of my beauty routine)
Running Shoes -- as needed
Any money I make outside my normal salary may be used for clothing purchases (I don't know what this source of extra income could be, but I might have to start brining in some extra bucks!)

I am so fortunate that I can CHOOSE to spend less, rather than being forced to do so. And yes, I'm incredibly fortunate that $500 per month is a budget, not an indulgence. So no guilt, no judgement. Let's get this party started!

I'm already seeing that a shopping budget represents so much more than just saving money. And -- scary -- I'm feeling much of the same anxiety about a shopping budget as I do about the annual New Years Diet. Could the two be connected? I'm guessing the answer is a big fat "yes"!

Just like I always binge eat before I begin a diet (a topic for the next post) I had had to go out today and do a big (binge) shop (allegedly at the post Christmas sales, except that nothing I bought actually WAS on sale...) in anticipation of the lean times to come.

Here is my haul:

Lululemon workout gear (pitty the girl in my spin class who isn't decked out in Lulu...)





I got all black because it is practical. Also because my other black Lulu top that I got last week in a swap with Cindy is TOTALLY different. See:



Then I got this awesome Michael Stars tee shirt -- so flattering on any figure, especially mine which is in dire need of a 10 pound weight loss (my new shirt is dark blue, but yes, I also have the black one...)



And I became obsessed with this Clarins special edition eye shadow after reading about it on a few beauty blogs. Apparently it is sold out everywhere and going for $70 on eBay! Luckily my little burb isn't as chic as it thinks, so the "impossible" to get trio was fully stocked at my local mall. Phew!



And no, this eye shaddow is nothing like the two other new shadow's I got last week at Sephora, NOTHING! Especially NOT the Too Faced (my favorite brand) Smoky Eye Palate:



So, anyone starting to see why shopping more mindfully could be a good idea? Or at least why I need to think a little more about what I NEED before I buy? I certainly am...

Next up, eating minfully.